The B-CC Chapter of the IWLA is located on 623 acres that are open to chapter members & their escorted guests. Also called the "Doc Holden Conservation Farm," the property is a unique complex of habitats that includes two ponds and several seasonal streams, fields, and woodlands in which more than a dozen rare and endangered plant species have been identified. The farm provides food and cover for upland wildlife native to Maryland forests including black bear, white-tail deer, red fox, raccoon, rabbits, and a myriad of reptiles, amphibians, insects and birds. The B-CC Chapter is contiguous to the 2000+ acre McKee-Beshers Wildlife Management Area, which in turn adjoins Seneca State Park, the Chesapeake and Ohio Canal National Historical Park and the Potomac River, providing a corridor for wildlife movement over a large area.
For the enjoyment of the members and their escorted guests, and during some events open to the public, the chapter boasts diverse outdoor venues for education, learning, exercise, and recreation in diverse outdoor pursuits coupled with a rustic chapterhouse and other indoor opportunities to continue the work (and fun) out of the elements. The major chapter favcilities are lisated below along with a section on the property boundaries themselves:
Celebrating over 50 years at the Poolesville Farm.
Learn more about our fishing ponds, garden plots and nature trails.
The original Chapter House was destroyed by fire in 1988. The new Chapter House, shown below, was rebuilt to look like the original building and was dedicated in 1990. The new building was built on the site of the original Chapter House.
We invite B-CC IWLA members and their escorted guests to come out and enjoy our Chapter Ranges covering 50 plus acres within our beautiful 500 plus acre conservation farm.
The B-CC IWLA Conservation Farm covers over 623 acres with one area developed for primitive tent camping. The primitive camping area is forested with a thick tree-top canopy and substantial ground cover allowing privacy for three campsites
In 1750, a son of a Scottish Laird came to Maryland and purchased over 1000 acres in Montgomery County. He named the land "Crossbasket" after his family’s estate in Scotland. Part of that land, after passing to his first son, was then sold to Robert Dick in 1825 and the construction of a log cabin soon commenced.
Google Earth, GPS Exchange (for app's like Back Country Navigator), and Garmin files to enable your home computer and GPS devices to display the chapter boundaries within maps, topographic maps, and satellite photos on those devices.
Live Christmas trees, grown on our farm are for sale most weekends in December.